Izzy Calder Kid

City of GRAND RAPIDS with Kids

Neighborhoods of Grand Rapids

Whether you live in a Grand Rapids neighborhood or are just visiting, here are some of the reasons families love to call neighborhoods of GR home.

Alger Heights Neighborhood

Known for its old school charm, Alger Heights has a walkable downtown with a library (Seymour Branch of the Grand Rapids Public Library) and beloved businesses.

The Old Goat restaurant (sister to Electric Cheetah and Uncle Cheetah’s Soup Shop) and boasts a full lunch and dinner menu and has a great Sunday brunch menu. The laid back atmosphere is perfect for kids and families and the food is tasty.

Shop at Reinspired TreasuresThey have a great selection of vintage finds, furniture, home decor by local artists, and more. Ken’s Fruit Market has a fantastic selection of fruit and flowers- but if you’re stopping by for the day with kids – you’re going to want to check out the fantastic candy selection.

When you’re in Alger Heights, you have a few options when it comes to playgrounds.

Alger Heights Playground

  • There’s one located at the corner of Blaine & Edna (just north of Alger) on north side of the campus of the public middle school – this is for older kids, probably ages 7+.
  • There’s a playground at the old Seymour Elementary/H.I.S. Dance campus on Mayhewwood (just east of Eastern.) This is the playground pictured above and probably the one you’ll visit with little kids.
  • There’s also a tiny playground on the west side of Blaine, south of Burton.

City of Grand Rapids with Kids

Life with kids in the City of Grand Rapids is pretty special. Use these articles to help you navigate.

City of Grand Rapids Kids Calendar

Here’s what’s going on for families and kids in communities and neighborhoods in the city of Grand Rapids!

If you’re looking for things to with with kids in Alger Heights, Ottawa Hills, Garfield Park, Black Hills, Heritage Hill or other communities in Grand Rapids city limits, this is your event calendar and resource hub.

If you have an event that you’d like to add to our calendar, submit it here. Be sure to click your community’s category.

Sunday July 12, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓12:30 PM

Game On [Sunday]

Monday July 13, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday July 14, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday July 15, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Friday July 17, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday July 17, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday July 18, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Sunday July 19, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday July 20, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday July 21, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

7:30 PM

RESCHEDULED: The Price Is Right Live!

Thursday July 23, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Thursday July 23, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday July 24, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday July 25, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

2:00 PM

The Peach Truck Tour

Sunday July 26, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday July 27, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Wednesday July 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday July 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Thursday July 30, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday July 31, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday August 1, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Sunday August 2, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Tuesday August 4, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday August 4, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday August 5, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Thursday August 6, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday August 7, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday August 8, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday August 10, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓12:30 PM

Game On [Sunday]

Monday August 10, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday August 11, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday August 12, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓8:30 PM

Project Night Lights

Thursday August 13, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday August 14, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Sunday August 16, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Sunday August 16, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday August 17, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday August 18, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday August 19, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Thursday August 20, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Saturday August 22, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday August 22, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Sunday August 23, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday August 24, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday August 25, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday August 26, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Friday August 28, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday August 28, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday August 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Sunday August 30, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday August 31, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday September 1, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Thursday September 3, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Thursday September 3, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday September 4, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

5:00 PM

Food Truck Fridays at Riverside Park

Saturday September 5, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Sunday September 6, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

Monday September 7, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
9:00 AM

BRICKLIVE Animal Paradise

🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Wednesday September 9, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday September 9, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

🆓8:30 PM

Project Night Lights

Thursday September 10, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday September 11, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Saturday September 12, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Sunday September 13, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓12:30 PM

Game On [Sunday]

Tuesday September 15, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday September 15, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday September 16, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Thursday September 17, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday September 18, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Saturday September 19, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Tuesday September 22, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday September 22, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday September 23, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Thursday September 24, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday September 25, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Saturday September 26, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Tuesday September 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday September 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday September 30, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Thursday October 1, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday October 2, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Saturday October 3, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Tuesday October 6, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday October 6, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday October 7, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Thursday October 8, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday October 9, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Saturday October 10, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Monday October 12, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓12:30 PM

Game On [Sunday]

Monday October 12, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday October 13, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday October 14, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

🆓8:30 PM

Project Night Lights

Thursday October 15, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday October 16, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Sunday October 18, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Monday October 19, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday October 20, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday October 21, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Thursday October 22, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday October 23, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Sunday October 25, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

5:00 PM

The Zombie Dash

Monday October 26, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday October 27, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday October 28, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Thursday October 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Friday October 30, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Sunday November 1, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:00 AM

Fulton Street Farmers Market

Monday November 2, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday November 3, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Thursday November 5, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Sunday November 8, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓12:30 PM

Game On [Sunday]

Monday November 9, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Wednesday November 11, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday November 11, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:30 PM

Project Night Lights

Thursday November 12, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Monday November 16, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday November 17, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Thursday November 19, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Tuesday November 24, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday November 24, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Monday November 30, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday December 1, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Thursday December 3, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Monday December 7, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Wednesday December 9, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Wednesday December 9, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓8:30 PM

Project Night Lights

Thursday December 10, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Sunday December 13, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓12:30 PM

Game On [Sunday]

Monday December 14, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday December 15, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Friday December 18, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Monday December 21, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday December 22, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Thursday December 24, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Monday December 28, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓1:00 PM

REimagine Craft Mondays & Open Hours

Tuesday December 29, 2020

Date/TimeEvent
🆓10:00 AM

Free Tuesdays at the GRAM

Friday January 1, 2021

Date/TimeEvent
🆓5:00 PM

Free Thursday Nights at the GRAM

Izzy Calder Popout

downtown GRAND Rapids

 

GRPM Whale

 

tire swing

Rosa Parks Circle Spring Grand Rapids Kids

Festival of the Arts

Downtown Market kids eating ice cream